Archive | Clubs-Venues RSS feed for this section

Lez Zeppelin heading Downunder

May 29, 2018

ALL GIRL HIGH ENERGY ROCK
DIRECT FROM THE USA TO TOUR
GIRL ROCKERS LEZ ZEPPELIN are heading Downunder for their 2018 Australian Tour.
The all-girl band earning the reputation as one of the most exciting live acts on the scene, are bringing their version of the rock-laden classics penned by the legendary Led Zeppelin to Australia for the first time, and audiences better get ready for a blistering live show.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Awesome tour for Kevin Bloody Wilson

February 8, 2018

MUCH LOVED AUSSIE COMEDIAN
TO UNLEASH HIS UNIQUELY
POLITICALLY INCORRECT HUMOUR
ON AUDIENCES DOWNUNDER
AUSSIE COMEDIAN Kevin Bloody Wilson is hitting the road again in 2018 on his hilarious politically incorrect Almost Awesome tour.
As one of few funny-men who totally embody the spirit of Australian humour, Kev is revered around the globe for his Aussie larrikin take on life.
He’s performed everywhere throughout his career, from outback pubs to the hallowed halls of the London Palladium, packing out houses wherever he goes.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Jade Hurley – a performance to remember

October 1, 2017

REVIEW: Jade Hurley
Venue: Twin Towns Services Club
Date: September 19, 2017

By Shirley Broun

JUST couldn’t resist the opportunity to see one of Australia’s most enduring and loved rock’n’rollers in action at Twin Towns Services Club in Tweed Heads recently.
When the music kicked off and the lights focused on a white piano sitting centre stage I, and a full auditorium of dedicated fans, were poised and ready for the man who had set the piano keys alight with his sizzling renditions of some of the all-time rock’n’roll greats.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Greg Doolan takes his final bow

February 17, 2017

WICKETY WAK STAR LOSES
BATTLE WITH CANCER
By Shirley Broun
YESTERDAY afternoon I checked in to read the latest notifications on Facebook.
A post from entertainment industry stalwart Brian Fogarty caught my eye. Something about my dear friend Greg Doolan. `Oh what's Greg up to,' I thought inquisitively. Then I read it:
"Another shock! Too young and a great talent -- Greg Doolan (Wickety Wak) sadly passed away this afternoon @ only 63 yrs of age."
Can't be right, I thought and read it again.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review: Swing Central delivers

September 17, 2013

Swing Central jazz it up at brunch
VENUE: Jupiter's Casino, Gold Coast
DATE: September 15, 2013

Review by SHIRLEY BROUN

SWING Central was the icing on the cake for hundreds of guests who attended a special brunch set in the beautiful lush green gardens of Jupiter’s Casino on the Queensland Gold Coast on Sunday.
An outdoor vista warmed by a beautiful September sun, shaded by resort-style umbrellas both over the tables and as a temporary cover for the band, was the ideal setting to take in the relaxing tones of the group’s lead singer Brad Leaver.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Wayne Horsburgh yodels to success

July 17, 2013

Yodelling great keeps getting better
Venue: Nerang RSL
Date: July 17, 2013

Review by SHIRLEY BROUN

POPPED into Nerang RSL on the Qld Gold Coast today and who should be performing but multi-award winning country and yodelling great Wayne Horsburgh and the Howie Brothers.
As one would expect, the auditorium was packed with only standing room for late-comers like me but I didn’t mind.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

`The Olivia Newton John Story’ captivates audience

June 30, 2013

REVIEW: Greg & Laura Doolan, Rob Rosenlund
Venue: Tweed Heads Bowls Club
June 29, 2013

By Shirley Broun

TRIBUTE shows are a major part of the live performance arena these days and when a friend invited me to join her to see the `Olivia Newton John Story’ at Tweed Heads Bowls Club on the Queensland Gold Coast last night (June 29, 2013) I thought `why not’ - it ticks all my boxes (I love Olivia Newton John, I love live shows and I was really in the mood to be entertained).… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Tell us about your brush with fame

January 18, 2013

Share your special memories

WHEN you look at what entertainers contribute in their bid to make our days, special occasions and lives so much more fun and memorable, then I can understand why the industry has such a strong following worldwide. And, I bet just about everyone has a special memory to share about how a performer - whether it be an actor, singer, dancer, personality, musician or another from the industry - has touched their lives.

Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Attention all Entertainers!

October 20, 2012

Membership Site
An invitation to contribute

By SHIRLEY BROUN

When I first started my National Entertainment Magazine Variety Today back in 1990, my aim was to promote Entertainers from all areas of the industry and provide them with a voice through its pages.

This was achieved by the industry not only reading and subscribing to the publication but also by contributing stories, columns, photographs, letters, updates, cartoons, jokes, funny annecdotes and so much more.

Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Lots of laughs with Pearson & Harvey

September 30, 2012

Paul Martell, Robert Pearson, Jane Scali, George Harvey

 
REVIEW: Pearson & Harvey
Southport Sharks
September 20, 2012
By Shirley Broun
 

ON with the Show could not have kicked off its Show Reviews with a better example of what pure entertainment is all about than this delightful presentation by ex-The Four Kinsmen's George Harvey and Robert Pearson.
Cheering them on in the audience were fellow performers Jane Scali and husband Paul Martell along with Jane's mother Maria and Paul's daughter Courtney.

Members read the rest!

Continue reading...
Follow by Email
Facebook
YouTube
Instagram