Archive | Reviews RSS feed for this section

New album brings back memories

June 29, 2018

June 29, 2018
Album Review:
Rex Dallas - Show Boat Kalang

By SHIRLEY BROUN

Country songs are renowned for telling stories and newly appointed `Ken Cameron Lifetime Achievement, Living Legend Award’’ winner
Rex Dallas has done just that in his latest album entitled `Show Boat Kalang’.  
The title track, Show Boat Kalang, takes listeners back to the 1950s in Sydney when the grand old lady of the Sea led the way by hosting cabaret shows, dancing and excursions for passengers as it sailed under the Sydney Harbour Bridge and into the Lane Cove and Parramatta Rivers or, alternatively, left from Circular Quay bound for the Spit Bridge, Middle Harbour and eventually Killarney picnic ground.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Lez Zeppelin heading Downunder

May 29, 2018

ALL GIRL HIGH ENERGY ROCK
DIRECT FROM THE USA TO TOUR
GIRL ROCKERS LEZ ZEPPELIN are heading Downunder for their 2018 Australian Tour.
The all-girl band earning the reputation as one of the most exciting live acts on the scene, are bringing their version of the rock-laden classics penned by the legendary Led Zeppelin to Australia for the first time, and audiences better get ready for a blistering live show.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Awesome tour for Kevin Bloody Wilson

February 8, 2018

MUCH LOVED AUSSIE COMEDIAN
TO UNLEASH HIS UNIQUELY
POLITICALLY INCORRECT HUMOUR
ON AUDIENCES DOWNUNDER
AUSSIE COMEDIAN Kevin Bloody Wilson is hitting the road again in 2018 on his hilarious politically incorrect Almost Awesome tour.
As one of few funny-men who totally embody the spirit of Australian humour, Kev is revered around the globe for his Aussie larrikin take on life.
He’s performed everywhere throughout his career, from outback pubs to the hallowed halls of the London Palladium, packing out houses wherever he goes.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Jade Hurley – a performance to remember

October 1, 2017

REVIEW: Jade Hurley
Venue: Twin Towns Services Club
Date: September 19, 2017

By Shirley Broun

JUST couldn’t resist the opportunity to see one of Australia’s most enduring and loved rock’n’rollers in action at Twin Towns Services Club in Tweed Heads recently.
When the music kicked off and the lights focused on a white piano sitting centre stage I, and a full auditorium of dedicated fans, were poised and ready for the man who had set the piano keys alight with his sizzling renditions of some of the all-time rock’n’roll greats.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review: Stepping out with Petula Clark

May 21, 2017

AT 84 THERE'S NO STOPPING THIS
TRUE SHOWBIZ LEGEND
Venue: State Theatre, Sydney
Date: May 20, 2017
By Guest Celebrity Reviewer
MARK KRISTIAN
WELL...WHAT AN EXPERIENCE it was to see one of my idols, PETULA CLARK, in concert.
It was fantastic! Lots of colleagues and Aussie showbiz royalty in attendance to witness (as the marquee stated) 'a true legend'.
At 84 years of age, Miss Clark would put many performers half her age to shame.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Greg Doolan takes his final bow

February 17, 2017

WICKETY WAK STAR LOSES
BATTLE WITH CANCER
By Shirley Broun
YESTERDAY afternoon I checked in to read the latest notifications on Facebook.
A post from entertainment industry stalwart Brian Fogarty caught my eye. Something about my dear friend Greg Doolan. `Oh what's Greg up to,' I thought inquisitively. Then I read it:
"Another shock! Too young and a great talent -- Greg Doolan (Wickety Wak) sadly passed away this afternoon @ only 63 yrs of age."
Can't be right, I thought and read it again.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review: Rockin’ good time as Ol’ 55 celebrates 40 years

November 28, 2016

Audience jumping to sound of Ol' 55

VENUE: Jupiter’s Casino, Gold Coast

DATE: November 26, 2016

Review by SHIRLEY BROUN

 
FROM the very moment Ol' 55 first leaped onto centre stage, the audience were ready to relive the music of the 50s and 60s.
Rock'n'roll dancers jumped to their feet in readiness and I heard one lady next to me say `I just can't wait, I love their music'.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review: Dogwood Crossing

October 7, 2014

Latest single is hot hot hot!
SONG: Hold My Head Up High
ARTIST: Dogwood Crossing
DATE: October 7, 2014

Review by SHIRLEY BROUN

THE latest single from Queensland rockers Dogwood Crossing has captured the essence of early Aussie rock band icons but with a unique modern twist that is completely their own.
I spoke with lead singer Tim Earle last week and was so intrigued with the story behind the new single `Hold My Head Up High’ that I just had to download a copy and take a listen.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review – The Ultimate Vegas Show

May 27, 2014

High energy show brings Vegas to Gold Coast
Venue: Jupiter's Casino, Gold Coast Qld
Date: May 9, 2014

By Guest Celebrity Reviewer

SCOTT RADBURN, of The Four Kinsmen

IT was Saturday May 9, 2014 ... the matinee show!
What better place to see a Las Vegas show than at Jupiter’s Casino on the Gold Coast?
Michael Boyd, one of Australia’s leading illusionists, has brought a high energy variety show in definite Vegas style to the lovely Jupiter’s Casino show room.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Can You Feel It – Motown at its best

March 29, 2014

EDITOR’S BLOG
CAN YOU FEEL IT … The best of Motown Era
REVIEW: Jupiters Casino, Broadbeach, Qld
March 28, 2014

By SHIRLEY BROUN

A FRIEND called me out of the blue last night and asked if I would like to see a new show at Jupiter’s Casino which started in less than an hour. Apparently she had an extra ticket as one of her party of show goers hadn’t been able to make it.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...
Follow by Email
Facebook
YouTube
Instagram