Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home2/ru4real/public_html/onwiththeshow.com.au/wp-content/themes/freshnews/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160

Archive | Reviews RSS feed for this section

Review: Stepping out with Petula Clark

May 21, 2017

0 Comments

AT 84 THERE’S NO STOPPING THIS
TRUE SHOWBIZ LEGEND
Venue: State Theatre, Sydney
Date: May 20, 2017
By Guest Celebrity Reviewer
MARK KRISTIAN
WELL…WHAT AN EXPERIENCE it was to see one of my idols, PETULA CLARK, in concert.
It was fantastic! Lots of colleagues and Aussie showbiz royalty in attendance to witness (as the marquee stated) ‘a true legend’.
Petula Clark
At 84 years of age, Miss Clark would put many performers half her age to shame.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Greg Doolan takes his final bow

February 17, 2017

0 Comments

WICKETY WAK STAR LOSES
BATTLE WITH CANCER
By Shirley Broun
YESTERDAY afternoon I checked in to read the latest notifications on Facebook.
A post from entertainment industry stalwart Brian Fogarty caught my eye. Something about my dear friend Greg Doolan. `Oh what’s Greg up to,’ I thought inquisitively. Then I read it:
“Another shock! Too young and a great talent — Greg Doolan (Wickety Wak) sadly passed away this afternoon @ only 63 yrs of age.”
Greg Doolan
Can’t be right, I thought and read it again.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review: Rockin’ good time as Ol’ 55 celebrates 40 years

November 28, 2016

0 Comments

Audience jumping to sound of Ol’ 55

VENUE: Jupiter’s Casino, Gold Coast

DATE: November 26, 2016

Review by SHIRLEY BROUN

 
FROM the very moment Ol’ 55 first leaped onto centre stage, the audience were ready to relive the music of the 50s and 60s.
Ol’55 with Glen A Baker and On With the Show proprietor Shirley Broun at Jupiter’s Theatre.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review: Dogwood Crossing

October 7, 2014

0 Comments

Latest single is hot hot hot!
SONG: Hold My Head Up High
ARTIST: Dogwood Crossing
DATE: October 7, 2014

Review by SHIRLEY BROUN

THE latest single from Queensland rockers Dogwood Crossing has captured the essence of early Aussie rock band icons but with a unique modern twist that is completely their own.
I spoke with lead singer Tim Earle last week and was so intrigued with the story behind the new single `Hold My Head Up High’ that I just had to download a copy and take a listen.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review – The Ultimate Vegas Show

May 27, 2014

0 Comments

High energy show brings Vegas to Gold Coast
Venue: Jupiter’s Casino, Gold Coast Qld
Date: May 9, 2014

By Guest Celebrity Reviewer

SCOTT RADBURN, of The Four Kinsmen

IT was Saturday May 9, 2014 … the matinee show!
What better place to see a Las Vegas show than at Jupiter’s Casino on the Gold Coast?
Michael Boyd, one of Australia’s leading illusionists, has brought a high energy variety show in definite Vegas style to the lovely Jupiter’s Casino show room.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Can You Feel It – Motown at its best

March 29, 2014

2 Comments

EDITOR’S BLOG
CAN YOU FEEL IT … The best of Motown Era
REVIEW: Jupiters Casino, Broadbeach, Qld
March 28, 2014

By SHIRLEY BROUN

A FRIEND called me out of the blue last night and asked if I would like to see a new show at Jupiter’s Casino which started in less than an hour. Apparently she had an extra ticket as one of her party of show goers hadn’t been able to make it.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review – Grease the Musical

October 17, 2013

0 Comments

Its a Ramma lamma lamma ka dingity ding da dong Great Time!
Venue: The Lyric Theatre, Star Casino, Sydney
Date: October 16, 2013
By Guest Celebrity Reviewer
SCOTT RADBURN, of The Four Kinsmen
TO preface my review … let me be honest and say that over the years I have never been vaguely interested in seeing the live musical `Grease’. I have always preferred the huge, deep, gutsy, emotional musicals like `Les Miserables’, `Kiss of The Spider Woman’ and `The Phantom of The Opera’ with a touch of `The Jersey Boys’ thrown in.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review: Swing Central delivers

September 17, 2013

0 Comments

Swing Central jazz it up at brunch
VENUE: Jupiter’s Casino, Gold Coast
DATE: September 15, 2013

Review by SHIRLEY BROUN

SWING Central was the icing on the cake for hundreds of guests who attended a special brunch set in the beautiful lush green gardens of Jupiter’s Casino on the Queensland Gold Coast on Sunday.
An outdoor vista warmed by a beautiful September sun, shaded by resort-style umbrellas both over the tables and as a temporary cover for the band, was the ideal setting to take in the relaxing tones of the group’s lead singer Brad Leaver.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Book Review: The Three Keys

August 11, 2013

0 Comments

Your Hand-e-book to `life’
E-Book Review: `The Three Keys’, by Tim Mullins

By SHIRLEY BROUN

Tim Mullins

SINCE I first obtained a copy of this book, The Three Keys, I have had it within easy reach for repeated reference. It’s like my handbook for `life’ and each time I refer to it I find I am injected with a renewed enthusiasm for life and simply, getting on with it!… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Review – Bee Gees `How Deep is your Love’ tribute

July 22, 2013

0 Comments

Talent shines in a night to remember
Venue: Brisbane City Hall
Date: July 20, 2013

Review by SHIRLEY BROUN

I EXITED the Brisbane City Hall on Saturday night thinking `wow’ what a tremendous show and what a shame the rest of Australia couldn’t have been with me to witness the event.
Tina Arena, Doug Parkinson & Christine Anu. Photo by Shelley Garrod.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Wayne Horsburgh yodels to success

July 17, 2013

0 Comments

Yodelling great keeps getting better
Venue: Nerang RSL
Date: July 17, 2013

Review by SHIRLEY BROUN

POPPED into Nerang RSL on the Qld Gold Coast today and who should be performing but multi-award winning country and yodelling great Wayne Horsburgh and the Howie Brothers.
Wayne Horsburgh
As one would expect, the auditorium was packed with only standing room for late-comers like me but I didn’t mind.… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

`The Olivia Newton John Story’ captivates audience

June 30, 2013

0 Comments

REVIEW: Greg & Laura Doolan, Rob Rosenlund
Venue: Tweed Heads Bowls Club
June 29, 2013

By Shirley Broun

TRIBUTE shows are a major part of the live performance arena these days and when a friend invited me to join her to see the `Olivia Newton John Story’ at Tweed Heads Bowls Club on the Queensland Gold Coast last night (June 29, 2013) I thought `why not’ – it ticks all my boxes (I love Olivia Newton John, I love live shows and I was really in the mood to be entertained).… Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Tell us about your brush with fame

January 18, 2013

0 Comments

Share your special memories

WHEN you look at what entertainers contribute in their bid to make our days, special occasions and lives so much more fun and memorable, then I can understand why the industry has such a strong following worldwide. And, I bet just about everyone has a special memory to share about how a performer – whether it be an actor, singer, dancer, personality, musician or another from the industry – has touched their lives.

Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Standing ovation for Human Nature

December 15, 2012

0 Comments

REVIEW: Human Nature and the Australian Philharmonic Orchestra
Jupiters, Gold Coast
December 15, 2012
By On With the Show’s Shirley Broun

HUMAN Nature had the crowd jumping to their feet when they performed to a packed house at the plush Jupiters Casino on the Queensland Gold Coast last night. Rarely do you see an entire room of people stand with such enthusiasm.

Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Audience laps it up at Tap Dogs

November 15, 2012

0 Comments

REVIEW: Tap Dogs, Jupiters, Gold Coast, November 2012
By Shirley Broun
 

AS a former scholar of tap dancing, I could not pass up an opportunity to see some of Australia’s top `tappers’ first hand on the fabulous Jupiters stage.

I couldn’t help but wonder what these talented dancers would do in a 80 minute non-stop show that just focused on `tap dancing’, but was pleasantly surprised at the innovative ideas that flowed on the stage before us.

Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Attention all Entertainers!

October 20, 2012

2 Comments

Membership Site
An invitation to contribute

By SHIRLEY BROUN

When I first started my National Entertainment Magazine Variety Today back in 1990, my aim was to promote Entertainers from all areas of the industry and provide them with a voice through its pages.

This was achieved by the industry not only reading and subscribing to the publication but also by contributing stories, columns, photographs, letters, updates, cartoons, jokes, funny annecdotes and so much more.

Members read the rest!

Continue reading...

Lots of laughs with Pearson & Harvey

September 30, 2012

0 Comments

Paul Martell, Robert Pearson, Jane Scali, George Harvey

 
REVIEW: Pearson & Harvey
Southport Sharks
September 20, 2012
By Shirley Broun
 

ON with the Show could not have kicked off its Show Reviews with a better example of what pure entertainment is all about than this delightful presentation by ex-The Four Kinsmen’s George Harvey and Robert Pearson.
Cheering them on in the audience were fellow performers Jane Scali and husband Paul Martell along with Jane’s mother Maria and Paul’s daughter Courtney.

Members read the rest!

Continue reading...